Happiness is a Choice and this is what I choose to believe (My personal writing about my personal journey of live)

1419316860-100-org

Let me share this before I write the main topic. Right know, I don’t have any idea to write in my journal. I opened my blog and I found that there is no product of writing at all. It also happens with my personal journal. I ask myself, “Where have I been for this long time, what is the product that I produce? And do I feel happy these days?” Honestly, I never wrote something for more than 5 days. Because of that reason, my mind thinks hardly to find a topic that suit with this condition. So, I choose “happiness” as a main topic. I realize for couple days, I am not in happy condition. I feel bad and it seems like problem come to my life without end. I just let myself grieve in myself ways, but it’s not help anymore. So, I grab my laptop and start to write. I hope with this writing, I will help all of you out there to stand up from your problem and face it with honor and of course help myself. So, let’s begin (when I wrote this, I pretend that I talk with myself, so I hope, you are not get shock because of my craziest ways to improve my mental strength by myself ).

At each moment of the day, you make a decision, whether you realize it or not. It’s the result of your attitude towards life. And whatever it is—positive or negative—it affects all the aspects of your life including other life because of yours. So, if you’re living a complicated life with so many things to do and no time for yourself, it’s your own fault. If you’re surrounded by negative people, have a job you hate and can’t even sleep at night because of the many thoughts that pop up in your head constantly, no one else is responsible for that but you, yourself . If you’re doing what you love, work hard but still find time for yourself and those you love, it’s due to a choice you’ve made at some point. It is not about blame yourself because of all the situation and condition you feel right know. It is more about responsibility about your own life. Come on, you are not a kid anymore. But, whatever your situation is or your problem was, you can change it. You can change it with your hard works. Convince yourself that you can do that. You can make it.

Happiness is free, doesn’t depend on age, looks, career or income. Everyone deserves it but it depends on their choice. Come take a look, there is many beggar that sitting down in front of your school, they faced how hot and burn the sunrise and how unhealthy the air around them. But, see they still sitting down in there until now (I don’t have any idea to make an example of happiness people, I hope it will suit. But, really I don’t sure about that). Or maybe what Jesus said about plants and flowers that not working but they are alive because Father in Heaven feed them. I search many topics about happiness and I found the good one from http://www.lifehack.org/. Here is the happiness formula:

Letting Go + Acceptance + Gratitude = Happiness

What will we call them, skills, processes, qualities, goals, or else? They don’t really need to be defined, (I think), but to learn and practice. Now let’s discuss each element of the happiness formula separately.

Letting Go

I remember that there is a song about this. The song is sing by Idina Menzel with title “Let it Go” and used for soundtrack of Disney movie, Frozen. One of the lyric said like this:

The wind is howling like this swirling storm inside

Couldn’t keep it in, heaven knows I tried!

Just like me now, I feel like the storm inside my heart and could not keep it in for a long time. I think you too. That’s why you choose this article to read.

The problem is that we hold onto are many—all our past relationships, painful memories, bad experience, material objects that remind us of something, etc. We also spend a great deal of time thinking about the future, fearing what might go wrong, trying to change it by taking control and planning. And when things turn out differently, we’re disappointed and devastated. It is human nature (can’t enjoy life and be happy). I remember that now I should be in Brawijaya University, Malang (Indonesia) and continue my Master Education in major Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing there. Maybe I am in second semester right now. But, the fact is I am stuck in another way. This is my regret until now. I blame myself because how weak am I, I cannot decided my own. I feel lost and I don’t know how to say it. But, I have a choice. If I let go and let things be just the way they are, I will be free, peaceful and will be able to experience the present moment without comparing it to a previous one, without expecting it to turn out in a particular way, without overthinking and worrying about the next one. Actually, speaks is easy but hard to do. For now on, I try to take positives from this lesson learning. I try to collect all the good in my new way now and try to build other kind of dream and Let it go. Like the continuous of the song lyric:

Let it go, let it go

I am one with the wind and sky

Let it go, let it go

You’ll never see me cry!

Acceptance

To accept is to be okay with things, people, events and especially yourself. It doesn’t mean you give up on trying achieving what you’ve wanted; it means that you trust the natural flow and don’t interfere. It similar like what Taoism teaches about life. Check this story behind.

A Taoist story tells of an old man who accidentally fell into the river rapids leading to a high and dangerous waterfall. Onlookers feared for his life. Miraculously, he came out alive and unharmed downstream at the bottom of the falls. People asked him how he managed to survive. “I accommodated myself to the water, not the water to me. Without thinking, I allowed myself to be shaped by it. Plunging into the swirl, I came out with the swirl. This is how I survived.”

Source: http://users.rider.edu/~suler/zenstory/goflow.html

We can learn many lessons from this story. But, except for this article, I want to focus only about “trust the natural flow and don’t interfere”. It will allow you to go through life and be at ease, to have joy and satisfaction. You need to realize that whatever happens right now is the best for that exact moment. Then, something else will happen. Or you’ll be okay with it because that’s how things should be. You need to trust and believe. Only then you will be free from sadness, the need to always do something, the discontent and stress.

Gratitude

When I read this title, I just laugh. How can I be gratitude in my stuck life? It’s really nonsense. But, they said that this is a thing that can make you the happiest person. What you must do are focus on the good things in your life, be positive about what’s to come, be thankful for what you have (even the bad stuff as it’s lessons and experience) every single day, appreciate it, show you care, express your gratitude and love. Then you’ll start seeing all the abundance you live in. It will show you the other side of life—the magnificent one. That will let you live the life you’ve been dreaming about without changing anything in your environment. It is kind of hope (I think). You lighten up your life once again and never give up on helping yourself.

So, to conclude, if you choose to be happy, you choose to let go of what was and will be, accept what is and be okay with it, thank for it and appreciate it. That will make you the happy, contented person you’ve always wanted to become. You’ll find peace, will free yourself from the burden of the past and anxiety of the future, will start living in the present moment and will see all the beauty and abundance in your life by focusing on what you have and being grateful for it. But, if you are not opposite from it will come to you.

For me, I choose to be happy and surround myself with happiness instead of grieving in a long of period without any positive result.

Inspiration for this article is come from http://www.lifehack.org/, Thank you so much for all the sharing out there.

Thanks for your comment

